





### CALL FOR PAPERS

# 2<sup>nd</sup> ACM/IEEE(\*) International Symposium on Networks-on-Chip NOCS 2008

## April 7-11, 2008, Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom

## http://async.org.uk/nocs2008

The International Symposium on Networks-on-Chip (NOCS) provides a high quality forum for scientists and engineers to present their latest research findings in the area of NoC-based systems at all levels, from the physical on-chip link level through the network level, and ranging up to systems architecture and application software. Authors are invited to submit full papers on all aspects of NoCs. Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

- Network architecture (topology, routing, arbitration,...)
- Power and energy issues in NoC
- NoC case studies, application specific NoC design
- Timing, synchronous /asynchronous communication
- NoC reliability issues
- O/S support for NoC
- Metrics and benchmarks for NoCs
- NoC Network interface issues
- Modeling, simulation, and synthesis of NoCs
- Network-on-chip design methodologies

- NoC Quality of Service
- NoC support for CMP / MPSoC
- NoC support for memory access
- NoCs for FPGAs and structured ASICs
- Programming models
- Mapping of applications onto NoCs
- Novel interconnect links / switches /routers
- Signaling and circuit design for NoC links
- Physical design of interconnect and NoC
- NoC design tools
- Debug & Test of NoC
- Floorplan aware NoC architecture optimisation

Papers should be submitted via the conference web site. The submission should not exceed **ten pages** in IEEE double column format. Papers that exceed the length limit may not be reviewed. To permit blind review, submissions should not include the author names. Papers will be evaluated by the program committee and reviews will be based on scientific merit, innovation, relevance, and presentation. New-idea papers are encouraged and should be submitted in the specific Seminal Work category. The program committee recognizes that such papers may contain fewer experimental results than papers in established areas. Normal and Seminal Work papers can be accepted either as full papers or as posters. Accepted papers will be included in the conference proceedings published by the IEEE Computer Society.

NOCS'08 will be collocated with the 14<sup>th</sup> IEEE International Symposium on Asynchronous Circuits and Systems (ASYNC'08) <a href="http://async.org.uk/async2008">http://async.org.uk/async2008</a> and the organization and the programs of both symposia will be jointly coordinated, including keynote lectures, tutorials, exhibitions and social events. One of the highlight topics of joint interest will be Low Power.

## **Submission Information:**

• Abstract registration: 12 November 2007

• Full paper submission: 19 November 2007

Note that this deadline is hard and no (automatic) extensions will be granted

Notification of acceptance: 21 December 2007

• Final version due: 18 January 2008

• Paper Format: Abstract of up to 150 words, 10 pages or fewer, including figures, Single spaced, 10pt or larger font size, IEEE double column conference format.

#### SYMPOSIUM ORGANIZATION

General Chair: Alex Yakovlev

John Bainbridge

Program Co-Chairs: Kees Goossens

**Davide Bertozzi** 

Invited speakers Chair: Simon Moore

Publicity Chair: Srinivasan Murali

Industrial Liaison Chairs: Marly Roncken

**Pascal Vivet** 

Finance Chair: David Kinniment

Publication Chair: Luca Carloni

Local Arrangements Chairs: Albert Koelmans

Fei Xia

**Yvonne Turnbull** 

Tutorials Chair: Alex Bystrov

Exhibits Chair: Graeme Chester

Sponsorship Chair: Gordon Russell

Program Committee:

Tapani Ahonen **Eby Friedman** Federico Angiolini Shinobu Fujita John Bainbridge Steve Furber Twan Basten Ran Ginosar Luca Benini **Kees Goossens Davide Bertozzi Andreas Hansson Matthias Blumrich Axel Jantsch** Luca Carloni **Avinoam Kolodny Karam Chatha** Shashi Kumar **Fabien Clemirdy** Partha Kundu **Chita Das** Marcello Lajolo

Giovanni De Micheli Bill Lin
Adam Donlin Riccardo Locatelli
Petru Eles Pol Marchal

Radu Marculescu
Philippe Martin
Lotfi Mhamdi
Robert Mullins
Srinivasan Murali
Jari Nurmi
Li-Shiuan Peh
Frederic Petrot
Anand Raghunathan
Alberto SangiovanniVincentelli
Li Shang

**Gerard Smit** 

Jens Sparsoe

Brian Towles
Carlos Valderrama
Drew Wingard
Wayne Wolf
Alex Yakovlev
Sudhakar Yalamanchili
Hoi-Jun Yoo